Jennifer Walshe, Timothy Morton, Áine O’Dwyer, Lee Patterson, M.C. Schmidt, Streifenjunko and Vilde&Inga – Time Time Time

Time Time Time is an operatic work written by Jennifer Walshe and Timothy Morton, which premiered at Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ as part of Sonic Acts Festival 2019. For this commission, Morton and Walshe join forces with a notable ensemble of musicians and sound artists to explore the multiplicity of temporalities at the heart of being human. Everyone in the room is important – from the fast-paced digital time of M. C. Schmidt and Walshe, the deep geological rhythms of Lee Patterson, the liminal eternal drones of Aine O’Dwyer, to the shifting tectonic plates of Streifenjunko and Vilde&Inga. 'Time. If no one asks us, we know what it is. Or at least we know what one of the different versions of it is. Deep ecological time, evolutionary time, time travel, longitude, time expansion and contraction, alternative timelines and parallel universes. Polyphasic sleep, anti-ageing creams, fertility clocks, black holes and artificial intelligence. The groups of neurons forming population clocks within our brains, the nanosecond of difference between the space-time of our feet and heads, the monitoring of every second through our devices. Dinosaurs. And crying.' Music: Jennifer Walshe, developed in collaboration with Áine O’Dwyer, Lee Patterson, M. C. Schmidt, Streifenjunko (Eivind Lønning & Espen Reinertsen), Vilde&Inga (Inga Aas & Vilde Alnæs) Text: Timothy Morton, Jennifer Walshe Direction and video: Jennifer Walshe Stage and lighting: Aedín Cosgrove Sound design: Úna Monaghan Jennifer Walshe: voice, electronics Áine O’Dwyer: voice, harp, electronics Lee Patterson: electronics M. C. Schmidt: voice, electronics Eivind Lønning: trumpet Espen Reinertsen: saxophone Inga Aas: double bass Vilde Alnæs: violin
Timothy Morton, M.C. Schmidt & Jennifer Walshe in conversation with Arie Altena at Sonic Acts Festival 2019
Commissioned by Borealis – en festival for eksperimentell musikk, Sonic Acts, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues, Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival, and London Contemporary Music Festival/Serpentine Galleries. Supported by Arts Council Norway, Arts Council of Ireland and the Performing Arts Fund NL. Funded by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. Part of Re-Imagine Europe, co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union. Jennifer Walshe is a composer and performer who was born in Dublin, Ireland. Her music has been commissioned, broadcasted and performed all over the world. She has been the recipient of fellowships and prizes from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, New York, the DAAD Berliner Künstlerprogramm, the Internationales Musikinstitut, Darmstadt, and Akademie Schloss Solitude among others. Recent projects include Aisteach, a fictional history of avant-garde music in Ireland, and Everything Is Important, a work for voice, string quartet and film, commissioned by the Arditti Quartet, which has been touring to critical acclaim. Timothy Morton is Rita Shea Guffey Chair in English at Rice University. He has collaborated with Björk, Jeff Bridges, Olafur Eliasson, Haim Steinbach and Pharrell Williams. He is the author of Being Ecological (2018), Humankind: Solidarity with Nonhuman People (2017), Dark Ecology (2016), Nothing: Three Inquiries in Buddhism (2015), Hyperobjects (2013), Realist Magic (2013), The Ecological Thought (2010), and Ecology without Nature (2007). His concept of ‘dark ecology’ inspired a three-year art, research and commissioning project initiated by Sonic Acts and Hilde Methi in Norway and Russia (2014–16). Lee Patterson has devised and performs with a selection of amplified devices and processes by using sound recording as a form of ear training. Whether working live with amplification or recording within an environment, he has pioneered a range of methods to produce or uncover complex sound in unexpected places. From rock chalk to springs, from burning nuts to aquatic plants and insects, he eavesdrops upon and makes a novelty of playing objects and situations otherwise considered mute. His collaborators have included some of today’s most respected experimental musicians and filmmakers. He lives and works in Prestwich, Manchester, UK. M. C. Schmidt is a sound artist, video artist and member of the band Matmos (with tenuously legal husband Dr. Drew Daniel) which has enjoyed making albums and/or sharing the stage with Zeena Parkins, Robert Wilson, Anohni, Björk, Dan Deacon, So Percussion, Marshall Allen, the Kronos Quartet, Francois Bayle, snails, oatmeal and so many other people and things. He enjoys sound synthesis, digital and analogue, sampling sounds, reading out loud, playing percussion on unusual objects and the piano. Áine O’Dwyer creates live and recorded events that embrace the broader aesthetics of sound and its relationship to the environment, time, audience and structure. The notion of a holding space as extension-of-instrument is a cornerstone of her artistic investigation and the crux of her live performances and recorded works to date, which include Gallarais, Beast Diaries, Sound Walks from Medjugorje, Music for Church Cleaners, Locusts and Gegenschein, and her most recent publication Poems for Play. Streifenjunko have been making music together since 2005, with members Espen Reinertsen (saxophone and electronics) and Eivind Lønning (trumpet and electronics) closely working together to present original compositions at more than 200 concerts around the world. They have been heard at festivals such as Densités, KLAENG, NOWnow, Hagenfesten, Soddjazz, KIMfest and Sonic Acts (2010). In 2018 they released their third album, Like Driving, which is their first to also feature electronic instruments. They often perform together in other projects as well, most notably in the Christian Wallumrød Ensemble. Vilde&Inga is a string duo playing acoustic free improvised music, featuring violin and double bass. By exploring nontraditional approaches to instruments, they greatly expand their timbre palette. Their music develops slowly and organically, yet with a keen underlying sense of compositional form. Vilde Sandve Alnæs and Inga Margrete Aas studied at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. They have played together since 2010. In 2016, they received the Lindeman Prize for Young Musicians. Vilde&Inga’s first album, Makrofauna, was released on ECM in 2014 and their second album, Silfr, on the Norwegian label SOFA in 2017. Presentations World Premiere Sonic Acts Festival 2019 24 February 2019 Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ, Amsterdam Borealis – en festival for eksperimentell musikk 9 March 2019 Bergen, Norway MaerzMusik 24 March 2019 Berlin, Germany Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival 13 September 2019 Oslo, Norway London Contemporary Music Festival/Serpentine Galleries 14 December 2019 London, England

This site uses cookies.